All posts by Mike Tedd



After the first weekend of the 2019 Camrose, on 4th to 6th January, Wales lie third above Northern Ireland, Scotland and Ireland but a little behind the two English teams.  Wales were leading after four of the five matches.

The following team has been selected for the second weekend in England on 1st to 3rd March 2019:

Julian Pottage & Tony Ratcliff
Simon & Jonny Richards
Tim Rees & John Salisbury

The reserves are Mark Roderick & Paddy Murphy and the NPC will be Mike Tedd.

The venue is the Brandon Hall Hotel in Warwickshire.

Report No. 75


The follwing team will represent Wales in the Junior Camrose in Northern Ireland on February 15-17 2019:

Sarah Greener & Stephen Loat
David Williams & Ivan Williams
Mel Thomas & Jo Mulally
NPC Gilly Clench

We wish them well



The selectors invite entries for the Seniors Trial to be held in Cardiff on February 2-3 2019.  The Teltscher Trophy is on 5-7 April 2019 in Edinburgh.

Having invited comments on the proposed format and carefully reviewing the replies, the selectors have decided on adopting a Teams structure for this year’s trial.  This was requested by a clear majority of the respondents.

Entries should be sent to Tony Disley [ ] by December 17th, and may be from teams of four or from pairs. The selectors will endeavour to form teams acceptable to both pairs for those without team mates.  We urge as many eligible players as possible to take part.

The winning team is guaranteed selection with the third pair to be chosen by the selectors.  £100 will be paid to each member of the selected team as a contribution to their expenses.



A new European Mixed Teams Championship is being held in Lisbon from 22-28 February 2019.  Details can be found at:

Wales are able to send one team to this event, so the selectors would welcome applications from teams of four, five or six players who wish to play.  If more than one team applies a one day play-off will be organised.  If a pair would like help finding team-mates, please contact Paul Denning (

Please note that no expenses are available for this event.  Players will be responsible for the full costs including the entry fee.

Please apply to Paul Denning ( by Sunday 16th December.



The Lady Milne is the Home Internationals for Women’s Teams.

Applications are invited from PAIRS wishing to enter the trial to aid selection for the team to represent Wales in the 2019 Lady Milne.

The trial will be held in the Crossgates Community Centre on the weekend of 26/27 January.  Paul Denning is the selector responsible for organising the trial.

Play will start no earlier than 11.30am on the Saturday.

Screens will be in use at all tables.

Refreshments will be provided on both days.

Applications to play in the trial should be sent to Paul, whose email  address is

The closing date for entries to the trial is Sunday, 16 December. There is no entry fee, but table money will be charged at the rate of £40 per player.

The Lady Milne itself will be held in Ireland, on 12/13/14 April 2019. The Pair finishing in 1st place in the trial will be guaranteed a place in the Wales team.




Following the Premier League, this team has been selected for the first weekend of the 2019 Camrose, on 4th to 6th January:

Mark Roderick & Paddy Murphy
Simon & Jonny Richards
Tim Rees & John Salisbury

The reserves are Julian Pottage & Tony Ratcliff, and the NPC will be Alan Stephenson.

The venue is the Beaufort Park Hotel in Mold, North Wales.  Play starts at 7pm on Friday 4th, and spectators are very welcome.



The selectors will soon be inviting entries for the Seniors Trial planned to be held in Cardiff on February 2-3 2019. The Teltscher Trophy is on 5-7 April 2019 in Edinburgh.

We are considering whether to hold this trial as a pairs trial (as in recent years) or as a teams trial, and would welcome comments about this from people intending to play in the trial.

We feel the teams format of the Premier League, used for Camrose selection, has worked well. It leads to good teams representing Wales, and helps cohesion of the selected teams.

If a teams format were adopted, we would expect to invite entries from teams or from pairs (whom the selectors would then help form into teams). Teams would only be teams of 4. One would expect the selected team to include the winning team and the leading pair on a cross-imp basis, unless the margins were quite close.

Please send comments to Tony Disley (email by Monday 19th November.




After a couple of additions, the teams are now:

1.  Richard Plackett, Paul Denning, Mike Pownall, Tony Disley
2.  Ceri Pierce, Maggie Pierce, Gilly Clench, David Birt
3.  Bob Pitts, Barry Jones, Peter Kaufman, Alan Stephenson
4.  Gwynn Davis, Sue Ingham, Chris Rochelle, Simon Gottschalk
5.  Steve Jarvis, Nick Forrest, Tony Howarth, Kevin Maddox, Peter Milewski, Anthony Stevens
6.  Julian Pottage , Tony Ratcliff, Mark Roderick, Paddy Murphy, Simon Richards, Jonny Richards
7.  Steve Webb, Tim Barsby, Geoff Evans, Helen Houston, Mia Deschepper
8.  John Salisbury, Tim Rees, Gary Jones, Paul Lamford, Mike Tedd

The draw is as follows. Note that the first named team is the ‘Home’ team and has seating rights for that match in the first weekend. The draw remains the same for the second weekend, but seating rights will be reversed.


Match 1:  7 v 1; 6 v 2; 5 v 3; 4 v 8
Match 2: 1 v 6; 2 v 5; 3 v 4; 8 v 7
Match 3: 5 v 1; 4 v 2; 3 v 8; 6 v 7
Match 4: 1 v 4; 2 v 3; 7 v 5; 8 v 6


Match 5: 1 v 8; 2 v 7; 3 v 6; 4 v 5
Match 6: 2 v 8; 3 v 1; 4 v 7; 5 v 6
Match 7: 1 v 2; 7 v 3; 6 v 4; 8 v 5

The timing of the matches each weekend is expected to be:

Saturday: 11.30 – 1.25; 14.10 -16.05; 16.15 – 18.10; 18.20 – 20.15
Sunday: 10.30 – 12.25; 12.35 – 14.30; 15.00 – 16.40




Applications are now invited from TEAMS wishing to compete in this season’s Premier League. The main purpose of the Premier League is to assist the selectors in choosing teams to represent Wales over the two home international (Camrose) weekends in 2019 (January 4-6 in Wales, March 1-3 in England).

The Premier League will be held on the two weekends of October 20-21 and November 3-4 in the Commodore Hotel, Llandrindod Wells.

Teams may comprise up to six players, all of whom must be eligible to represent Wales this season. If a team entered is of fewer than six players, additional players, up to a total of six, may be added subsequently.

Acceptance of entries to the Premier League is at the discretion of the selectors, bearing in mind the purpose of the PL as outlined above. Application should be made to Mike Tedd, whose email address is

The closing date for entries is 31 August. There is no entry fee, but table money will be charged at a rate to cover the cost of the trial.




As is normally the case, there will be a sixth team participating in the Teltscher Trophy (‘Senior Camrose’), which this year will be held in Mold, North Wales on the weekend of 18/19/20 May.  The inclusion of a sixth team avoids the need for a long sit-out. In the past, when the event was sponsored, that sixth team was the ‘President’s Team’, which included the event sponsor. Now that Bernard Teltscher is no longer sponsoring the event we do not have a President’s team, but Wales – as this year’s hosts – have been invited to field a second team.

The following pairs have been invited to make up this second Wales team:

Dave Birt & Gilly Clench

Barry Jones & Bob Pitts

Tony Disley and Philip Felman